The Importance of Digital Citizenship

5633995909_874e477f25_z PhotoCC- By Stephen Ransom

Digital Citizenship. The importance of how to be a decent citizen on the internet needs to be stressed in homes and in schools. I thought the article, Who Are You Online? Considering Issues of Web Identity was really insightful when it talked about being the real you online, how you feel on and offline, being concerned about self-image, and how well your google reputation is.

To me, digital citizenship, is something that needs to be treated just like your normal behavior and actions. For everyone, the Golden Rule is applicable; do unto others as you would have them do unto you. I feel that once we get behind a computer screen, it is easy to feel invincible, and we forget that we are still held accountable for our actions. I feel I am just as guilty as others when it comes to communication behind the screen. I personally think it is easier to send a quick text or message than it is to pick up the phone and call someone. What I like about these communication methods is that I have time to think about what I am going to say before I blurt something out that I will later regret. Though this may be true for many, I still enjoy my face-to-face contact with friends, family, and acquaintances. With so much communication made by technology, it is extremely important to not lose that ability to communicate face-to-face, because no matter how much technology your future job will entail. It is important that you interview well in front of your future employer.

4859022705_b811fd1220_z.jpgPhotoCC- By Craig Taylor

Speaking of future careers, it is crucial that students are aware of their digital footprint. It is hard to truly understand and comprehend that once something is posted, even if it was later deleted, that post is still traceable and is able to be recovered. When I was younger, it was always stressed to me to never write anything down on paper if I didn’t want anyone to see or find out about it. I think this piece of advice is extremely applicable to our online lives as well. Be mindful of others and yourself, don’t post it if it is going to impact your future. Even if you can delete it from your page, it’s never truly gone. Also, be careful and mindful of what you post, who you accept as your friends, allowing your locations to be public, and setting secure passwords.

I believe that digital citizenship needs to be taught in school, but at times, I feel that no matter how much you stress its importance, some students just aren’t going to understand the significance of their actions online. Though, we are all human and have to learn from our mistakes, behaving unethically, can have a negative impact on one’s future.

8437221123_03d6bec3d5_zPhotoCC- By Esther Vargas

My Digital footprint is more than I thought it would be, however, it was nothing bad. When I Googled myself, I found most of my assignments from my SPED class. I used flipsnack a lot and that was what popped up the most. I have also found stats from high school sports and the newsletter from my high school graduation. Not many pictures showed up either, which I am grateful for! Oddly enough, the only social media account that popped up was my YouTube and Twitter account, which I use for school. I try to be very careful about what I am posting online, but it appears that I am still able to be found. Which, I can honestly say, I don’t like very much! I am just glad that nothing inappropriate is available and I am confident that it will stay that way. I really don’t post on social media very often, and I have my accounts as secure as I know how to make them.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. sydnistevens says:

    Great post! I think the picture you added to your post was very relevant and fit well with your topic. I too think the Golden Rule sums digital citizenship up quite nicely. I do think that this should be taught in schools and if it is taught in the right way, most if not all students will get the point. Again, Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I definitely agree that it has to be taught the right way. It also has to be taught with the attitude that technology isn’t a bad thing, but it can be harmful if used the wrong way.

      Like

  2. Nice post! I like what you said about one’s digital footprint!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jessica says:

    I agree that digital citizenship should be taught in schools, and I also agree that sometimes no matter how hard you push it, students might choose to not heed the warnings. However, in that case it is good to know that experience is the best of all teachers. Although students might make mistakes when it comes to their online identity, hopefully after they make the mistakes they can realize it by looking back on what their education taught them. In the end, those students have the potential to become the biggest advocates of creating a healthy digital citizenship. Everything happens for a reason! Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that is so true, sometimes you don’t understand until you have experienced the good and the bad. They really do have the ability to make a difference, so I hope they use our technology for the better. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

