ILP- The Impact of Technology on Children’s Speech

ILP check in. After a few weeks off of blogging about my independent learning project, researching about Speech-Language Pathology, it is good to get back to my research. I will say I have had troubles deciding what to focus on this week. I saw a video on Twitter, that talked about technology and the negative impact it has on children’s speech. Check it out:

What did you think? “A communication time bomb in the form of diminished speech and language skills and hearing loss”(ASHA). Wait, so this technology craze isn’t always as beneficial as everyone wants to believe? I am not badmouthing technology, because let’s face it, I use technology all of the time, I think it is very convenient to have our questions answered with the click of a button. I also agree that technology can be a very beneficial teaching tool if used right, but what I often see is that young children, such as toddlers, are handed a phone or tablet to keep them occupied while the parent or guardian tends to their business. Now, I do not have children, so I cannot speak of this action being a good or bad parenting skill, nor do I care to go into that topic. I am just stating my observation. But, the reality is that we are very dependent on technology and I feel that we may forget that children NEED to run and play, it is crucial for their learning. Children also need personal interaction and communication, so they can learn social and cognitive skills.

Just a few reminders for when a child is engrossed with technology (iPads, phones, tablets, computers, TVs. etc.): the child is not playing with his open ended toys, they are not having back-and-forth conversation with family members, they are not having books read to them by a loved one, they are not spending time outside getting fresh air, and they are not playing with other children, which means they are not learning how to share. Finally, when children are spending more time with technology and less time playing and interacting with others, they are not building their motor and visual and skills.

Like I stated earlier, I honestly think that technology can be a really great and resourceful teaching tool, but I feel that it needs to be used with a purpose. So, is the technology impacting speech because it is taking over the physical learning and playing, and lacking the social relationship between parents and siblings? Is it a parenting decision that needs to be reconsidered? I feel that this is an issue that needs to be addressed by the nation, we can’t have our children lacking in their communication and lose their ability to speak. I am curious on your thoughts.

***This post is not referring to any augmentative technology or technology used for speech therapy. ***

4478186287_56881f06d5_z

PhotoCC- By le1parrain

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I definitely agree with you that technology is an issue that needs to be addressed when associated with very young children. I think that extended screen time for anyone who is still in the high brain development stages is harmful on their mental health. The more children are allowed on these devices, the more they become dependent on them. For example, my cousin was here for the day yesterday. He is two and a half and lives five hours from my hometown limiting the time we get together. Three of the four hours I hung out with him and his family, he spent watching Bubble Guppies on a mobile device. This limited our conversation and interaction time immensely. I personally was not impressed nor did I find it beneficial in any way. How long do you think is too long for a child’s screen time?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm. Honestly, I can’t say, because I don’t have children of my own. I am o.k. with a little screen time and if it comes to watching a show, I would probably say 1 episode and that is enough? I know it is easy to become engrossed with the technology. I can’t say that I like it though. I was out to lunch one day and a grandma, father, son, and others were out. What I thought was shocking was that the grandma demanded the dad give his son the phone to “play games on”. I couldn’t believe it!! Especially at the table. I assume this child gets to see his grandma quite often, due to her insistence, but the conversation was minimal between the child and everyone else. I just wish that people would realize what children are missing out on.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is mind blowing! I agree. Children in today’s society are too engulfed. I can remember all the fun things I did as a child, good or bad, they were memories. Children today will never do the things I did because they are too depend on technology.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Isn’t that crazy to think about? I wonder if they will decide that they don’t like being so engrossed that they are missing out on the real world events and change their actions?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I don’t know that I see that happening. I feel that as technology improves that they are going to become more dependent on electronics.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Unfortunately, I kind of feel the same way…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jessica says:

    I’ve always been a big believer that when it comes to technology there needs to be a balance. Yes, technology has the capability to greatly enhance the lives of humans, but at what cost? The more anyone spends time on technology, the less they are engaging with the “real” world. With children especially this is harmful, because if they grow up glued to a screen they won’t know how to detach themselves from it. That being said, it is still important for students to learn the skills that are necessary for them to thrive in a technology-based society. Good post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with a balance and that there is a fine line that is easy to cross. I also agree that we do need to know how to use technology because it is a huge part of our world. It does impact social skills when used too much and I personally think it can be an addiction. Thanks for the feedback!

      Like

  3. mrdorcey says:

    I’ve read that children ages 2-18 should spend no more than 2 hours in front of technology. This includes TV, tablets, and phones. Sometimes it’s hard to know how much time the child is being exposed to while they are not with you (i.e. at daycare). While I know that giving your child isn’t always a good thing, try grocery shopping with a 2-year old. Sometimes it is definitely ok to use technology as a babysitter. My daughter, for example, only gets to play on educational apps. Sure, there are days that she probably has too much technology, but we try not to beat ourselves up over it. There are some days that she doesn’t have any. It’s just a balancing act, just like everything else in life – everything in moderation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback, I was just asked what I thought was an appropriate screen time; I said 1 T.V. episode and then it is time to be active. It is also very hard to monitor use when they aren’t with you, so then what do you do? I completely understand that it is a helpful tool when you are trying to be productive. I don’t see anything wrong with using technology if it is not a constant, all day activity. A balancing act is a great way to put it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. spedlearn says:

    This is a very interesting topic and I would love to see you expand upon it. I think there is such a fine line between the pros and cons of technology and as a future educator it is important to know where to draw that line.

    Like

Leave a Reply

