Attention Log

17470913285_01d630162b_z PhotoCC- By Japanexperterna.

After completing the activity log this week, it brought some attention to how I am using my time. It confirmed what I already knew, but that confirmation made me feel like I should maybe make better decisions about time management when it comes to working on my homework.

For the activity log we were to log at least five of our online sessions being homework, social media, shopping etc.. We were to keep track of: the physical space we were in, the device we were using, what occurred during this time, what we did, how we felt during this time, what worked, and what did not work.

I kept track of three sessions while working on homework, which were longer than 15 minutes, and two sessions that were just aimlessly scrolling through my social media apps, which is something that I do all to often.

Let’s face it, I don’t know about you, but I hate homework. I am at the point that I have a hard time really taking time and not rushing through it. It is kind of  funny because if I would shut my phone off, I would be able to get through it much faster, but instead, I am bad about having my phone with me and aimlessly scrolling through it and procrastinating. This is one thing that I was conscious about before doing this activity, but it made me aware of how much time I am really wasting. There are only so many times that you can scroll through your apps before you have seen everything and nothing new pops up. Almost all of my homework is online, so I am bad about relaxing on the couch while I am completing it, which tends to lead to me becoming tired and wanting to take a nap. I slowly move from getting a good start, to scrolling through my phone, to taking a break completely and watching T.V..

So, what doesn’t work for me is having my phone on or near me, sitting on the couch, and having background noise, such as the T.V., that may cause distractions. If I am really serious about getting my homework done quickly, have found that sitting at the table, or going to the library forces me to focus and get done quicker because I am not comfortable. Depending on what subject I am working on, I can listen to music, as long as I can’t stop and watch it, sometimes I feel like it keeps me on track. I get distracted by the T.V., so I need to avoid it. If, I have my phone on and next to me, I have to keep reminding myself about what I am doing on it and if I am staying on task. If I turn it off, the problem goes away all together; I need to just shut it off to begin with. This log gave me a good idea of how to find positive solutions to my procrastination.

While aimlessly scrolling through social media, I find that I soon become bored with it, but keep doing it anyways, because I am most likely putting off something that I don’t want to do (homework). I do enjoy being able to see what my friends and family are up to on Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram, and I’m not sure I would ever get rid of them all together. However, I can’t say that Facebook and Instagram are always that interesting and so I find myself scrolling through as more of a habit, than it being a topic of interest. If I am watching T.V. and scrolling, I wind up tuning out the T.V., so I guess it is pointless to do both.

I have found that I need to be better at time management and try not to “multitask” with my technology like I do. I thought the log was helpful to find solutions to my procrastination and made me feel a little bit guilty about all the time I was wasting. I guess it’s time to get myself together and stay on task.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I feel that activities such as the one you just did make us aware of just how fast our time goes by when we focus on social media. I too am a procrastinator to an extent, however mine is not to look at social media. I have difficulties when it comes to hanging out with friend and family or doing homework. While I know my homework is key to my success, I find those I care about to be more important. Time seems to go slower when I am not consumed in social media. I think that is the sole reason I do not like spending time doing homework and being on social media. What are some activities you like to consume yourself in that do not require social media? How does time seem to go in comparison to doing homework for you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’d much rather spend time with friends and family above anything else, it is hard to draw the line! I love to spend time outdoors, and to surround myself with friends and family, golfing, playing cards, eating, pretty much anything, really. I always feel that I never have enough time with them, it goes too fast! I feel that my time goes slow when working on homework and wasting time on my phone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel the same way!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so with you on the procrastination. The less procrastinating I can learn to do, the better! The log was also a great way for me to learn new ways to focus when on the internet. It was a good assignment! Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, it gave me that push, to really try to get my act together and just get my homework done. I liked that it gave me time to find what really works and doesn’t work for me. Thank you!

      Like

  3. mrdorcey says:

    I have also found that I scroll through Facebook more just to pass time than actually caring about what I am seeing in my news feed. I also have the same problem with procrastination. I am going to work on reducing the amount of time I spend on my phone and hopefully this will help with my procrastination problem. Good post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know reducing phone time has helped with mine, I just hate the thought of homework. HAHA. So, sometimes it doesn’t matter what I’m doing, I just don’t have the motivation to get it done quickly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

