ILP Wrap-up

8590592970_6162fddbb9_z        PhotoCC- By Allison Crow

Over the semester I have learned so much about Speech-Language Pathology through my Independent Learning Project. At first, I had a hard time deciding what I wanted to do for my ILP, but after some thought, I decided to look into something that I thought I was interested in as a future career. I am so glad I took the time to research Speech-Language Pathology and what it entailed, because it has encouraged me to keep pushing towards achieving that dream. I am not sure when, or if, I will ever achieve this goal, but as of now, I am going to keep working towards it.

Throughout my research I have learned about wage, work environment, what it entails to become a SLP, and the impact they have on their patient’s lives. I have also been made aware of how much I take the gift of speech for granted. Speech is our main way of communication and most, aren’t able to realize what it would be like to not have this ability, myself included. It is also difficult to communicate back and forth with someone who is not able to speak, so I can’t imagine the frustration that a person has when they are not able to effectively communicate with others. I want to be able to break that barrier and allow my patients to experience this amazing gift.

Another thing that was brought to my attention were all the different speech and language disorders that are out there. I knew that speech could be impacted by many different things such as, stroke, accidents, specific disorders, etc., but I was not aware that speech and language disorders were two different types of disorders. This means that the treatments also very. There were many other aspects that were brought to my attention that I had no idea about. Even though the research wasn’t something that I always wanted to do.

Throughout the semester I did have some difficulty finding things to research about Speech-Language Pathology. After I looked at the basics of wage, work environment and schooling, I was at a loss of where to go next. I started googling “fun facts” of SLP and that gave me some ideas, but other weeks it seemed to take me forever to decided what I was going to research. It was also hard to really want to work on my ILP during those weeks that I didn’t know where to go with it, but I always managed to get it done, even if it took me forever. It would have been really awesome to be able to shadow a SPL during this project, in a way, I wish I would have thought to do that earlier, but I am not sure I would have had time to do that while I was trying to fit in other observations for my classes.

As a future educator, I would love to do something like an ILP in my classroom, but I feel this is something that would be done in the older grades, maybe junior high to high school. Since it is an independent project, I feel that the older kids have a better way to manage their time to be able to work on their projects. If they were just doing activities, the younger ones would be able to do this as well, however, I worry about parent involvement; how much the projects would need compared to how much help students would actually get.

Overall, I really enjoyed the ILP even if I was at a loss of where to do with mine once in a while. If I ever did this again, I would do something that was a hands on project, instead of research. I just felt that I wasn’t always as interested as I should have been.

Leave a Reply

